Enjoyment . . .

This won’t be enough to qualify as a post, but just a thought that occurred to me yesterday:

When teaching, I am at my happiest when working with my students on the minutiae of drawing technique. I spent about 7 or 8 minutes with one student figuring out the best way to draw incredibly fine details on her portrait of her cat. Then, one class period later, I spent probably 10 minutes with another student hammering out the EXACT placement of EVERY SINGLE DETAIL of an eye that was part of a huge portrait. The other students at the table thought we were ridiculous for getting that in-depth, but I love when students are passionate enough to put the work in and make everything in the drawing incredible.

Teaching kids how to draw is what I do best, and there’s nothing better than having a student so invested that they are wiling to spend the time to make those drawings as good as they possibly can. That’s what makes me enjoy being in my classroom.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

