Art Show Weekend!

I am going to be pretty busy this weekend, but I’m pretty excited about it.  The big thing is my kid’s birthday party–he’s going to be 3 next week, and we have a bunch of little kids coming to our house for a few hours.  Should be fun.  For the purposes of this blog, though, it’s probably a little more important to talk about the art show openings I’ll be headed to each of the next two nights.

First up tonight, 4 of my students were selected to show some work at the Artists’ Co-Op Gallery in Omaha’s Old Market (for those of you living not in Nebraska, that’s our downtown Arts District). It’s a pretty big deal, because their work is part of the city’s First Friday openings.  There is a reception at the gallery, and I’m going to encourage them to hit up a few of the other galleries after we’re done. This is quite the event for these guys, and they’re understandably excited, because showing in a downtown gallery as a high schooler is quite an accomplishment.  I put it in perspective for them by being jealous and telling them I”VE never been invited to show there :) I think we’re all anticipating an exciting night.

Secondly, I’ll be hitting up The Waiting Room tomorrow night for a local art/music showcase.  I coincidentally ran into a former student just last night, and he was telling me that he had been accepted to display 4 of his paintings.  That’s short notice, and some plans need to be rearranged, but I feel like I need to make it out to support him and his art. He graduated 4 years ago, and I’ve seen him intermittently, but he’s always continued with his work and is always updating me on what he’s doing.  It’s good to see him get some recognition for what he does. Being the music and art fan that I am, there’s definitely some excitement for Saturday night as well.

To top it off, I’m going to have the opportunity to catch up with a couple of my favorite former students during the reception tonight. I am of course looking forward to seeing them, and I am very appreciative that they are coming out.  It’s a wonderful feeling to have a program where the former students are willing to take some time to support the current ones.

Art show. Dinner. A half-dozen 3-year olds. Birthday cake. Another art show.  This weekend is going to be spectacular.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

